Burleigh County North Dakota - link home
Home
County Commission Departments Boards/Committee About Transparency Portal Property Information
Contact Us Elections Job Listings Maps Public Notices Townships Links How Do I? News Events



















































Departments
Facebook Twitterprinter friendly page

Burn Ban

August 17, 2011: Burleigh County Burn Ban Lifted

The Burleigh County Commissioners have lifted the Burn Ban initially declared on June 20, 2011 for portions of rural Burleigh County.

Residents are reminded to utilize the established, controlled burn procedures:

  • Contact the Burleigh County Sheriff's Department (222-6651) before a controlled burn is started so that emergency responders are not dispatched for reports of a fire when it is a controlled burn. Be prepared to give your name, contact number, location of controlled burn, and anticipated duration of the burn. After the burning is completed and the fire is out, again contact the Sheriff's Department to inform them of the completion.

  • A controlled burn needs to be physically monitored at all times. Once the fire is started, do not walk away until the fire is completely out.





August 1, 2011: Burleigh County Modifies Burn Ban

The Burleigh County Commissioners previously instituted a Burn Ban on June 20, 2011 for the areas in rural Burleigh County that were inundated as well as the areas protected by the County levee systems.

The Burleigh County Commission modified the Burn Ban at tonight's Commission Meeting to only include areas that are inundated by floodwaters and have access limitations. Numerous areas continue to be surrounded by floodwaters causing limitations for emergency services.

The penalty for violation of this burn ban is a Class B misdemeanor (NDCC 37-17.1-10.1: maximum sentence of 30 days in jail and $1,000 fine).

Residents excluded from the burn ban are reminded to utilize the established, controlled burn procedures:

  • Contact the Burleigh County Sheriff's Department (222-6651) before a controlled burn is started so that emergency responders are not dispatched for reports of a fire when it is a controlled burn. Be prepared to give your name, contact number, location of controlled burn, and anticipated duration of the burn. After the burning is completed and the fire is out, again contact the Sheriff's Department to inform them of the completion.

  • A controlled burn needs to be physically monitored at all times. Once the fire is started, do not walk away until the fire is completely out.





Map of Zone C streets
July 27, 2011: Zone C is now excluded from the burn ban. (Ponderosa Area, Sleepy Hollow, and Olive Tree)



June 20, 2011: Burleigh County Declares Burn Ban

The Burleigh County Commissioners have declared a Burn Ban for portions of Burleigh County, North Dakota until further notice. No fireworks or open burning are allowed within the inundated areas and areas protected by the levee systems. The 2011 Flood Event Map indicates the existing levees and the areas protected by levees. THE PENALTY FOR VIOLATION OF THIS BURN BAN IS A CLASS B MISDEMEANOR (NDCC 37-17.1-10.1: MAXIMUM SENTENCE OF 30 DAYS IN JAIL AND $1,000 FINE).

2011 Bismarck-Mandan Flood Event Map