Burleigh County North Dakota - link home
Home
County Commission Departments Boards/Committee About Transparency Portal Property Information
Contact Us Elections Job Listings Maps Public Notices Townships Links How Do I? News Events









































Departments
Facebook Twitterprinter friendly page

Fireworks

Fire Restrictions Reference Guide
Click here for larger view.
Quick Reference Guide to Local Burn Bans/Fire Restrictions

The chart is provided as a quick reference guide. If you have any questions, please contact your local emergency manager or fire department.

Click here for Quick Reference Guide on Local Burn Ban/Fire Restrictions.










Fireworks ban picture
Fireworks can be legally sold June 27th thru July 5th and December 26th thru January 1st (NDCC 23-15-01); however, fireworks may not be utilized or possessed within the City of Bismarck.

Bismarck: Fireworks prohibited in Bismarck. Sale, possession or discharge of fireworks within city limits is a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by up to 30 days in jail and fines of up to $1,500.

Burleigh County: June 13, 2017: Burleigh County affirmed the June 9th Fire Emergency and Burn Ban with the inclusion of a ban on the discharge of fireworks and luminaries (lanterns) regardless of the Fire Danger Rating. Despite the recent moisture received, the area remains under abnormally dry conditions. The priorities continue to be life safety and preservation of property.

The burn ban (to include a ban on garbage/pit burning, campfires, and burning of farm or crop land) remains in effect when the North Dakota Rangeland Fire Danger Rating is "High", "Very High", "Extreme", and/or a Red Flag Warning has been issued. Again, fireworks and luminaries are banned regardless of the Fire Danger Rating.

THE PENALTY FOR VIOLATION OF THIS BURN BAN IS A CLASS B MISDEMEANOR (NDCC 37-17.1-10.1: MAXIMUM SENTENCE OF 30 DAYS IN JAIL AND $1,500 FINE).

Lincoln: The City of Lincoln had instituted a Fireworks ban effectively immediately in conjunction to the Burleigh County Burn Ban. Anyone found in violation of this will be cited under Municipal Code 3-05-04. This violation is an infraction which will require a court appearance, and the judge can assess up to a $1,000 fine.